Politics, Sports, Business, Entertainment and News you will get nowhere else.

Ads Here

Sunday, 21 October 2012

Mimiko emerges winner in Ondo governorship election

Governor Olusegun Mimiko of the Labour Party (LP), was Sunday declared winner of the Ondo state governorship election held on Saturday, 20 October, 2012.

Chief Returning Officer of the election and Vice Chancellor of Federal University of Technology, Akure, Prof. Adebiyi Daramola while declaring the final result of the election, said  Mimiko polled the highest number of votes in the election.Governor Mimiko polled a total of 260, 199 votes to beat Olusola Oke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 155, 961 votes and Barr. Oluwarotimi Akeredolu of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) with 143, 512 votes to the second and third places respectively.

He won with a landslide in 12 of the 18 local government areas of the state, including the two local government areas of Akure the state capital, the two local government areas in his home town of Ondo and three of the four local government areas of Akoko.

On his part, Oke, the PDP candidate, won in two local government areas, namely, Okitipupa and Ilaje, while Akeredolu of the ACN won in three local government areas, including Owo his home base, Akoko South-West and Odigbo local government areas.

According to the Returning Officer, a total of 645, 597 voters were accredited for the election out of the 1, 638, 950 registered voters in the state. A total of 594, 244 persons voted, out of which 30, 415 votes were invalidated.While declaring governor Mimiko winner of the election, the Returning Officer said “that Dr. Rahman Olusegun Mimiko of Labour Party, having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and is declared elected.” A total of 13 political parties participated in the keenly contested governor election of which three, namely ACN, LP and PDP were the dominant parties.

Present at the election result declaration was Ondo state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Akin Orebiyi.

Source: PM News

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments made by readers of this blog are strictly the views of the writers and not that of Nedu Echianu's Blog.