Politics, Sports, Business, Entertainment and News you will get nowhere else.

Ads Here

Wednesday, 17 April 2013

President Jonathan Sets up Amnesty Committee on Boko Haram

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the constitution of a Presidential Committee to “constructively engage key members of Boko Haram and define a comprehensive and workable framework for resolving the crisis of insecurity in the country.”

Announcing the setting up of the committee, a statement by Dr Reuben Abati, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity stated that the committee’s terms of reference will include:

-Developing a framework for the granting of amnesty
-Setting up of a framework through which disarmament could take place within a 60-day time frame
-Development of a comprehensive victims’ support program
-Development of mechanisms to address the underlying causes of insurgencies that will help to prevent future occurrences.
The committee is made up of the following Nigerians:
Committee on dialogue and peaceful resolution of security challenges in the north
1.                Kabiru Tanimu Turaki, Minister of Special Duties    -    Chairman
2.                Sheik Ahmed Lemu                                                     -          Member
3.                Dr. Hakeem Baba Ahmed                                            -        Member
4.                Col. Musa Shehu, (rtd.)                                               -         Member
5.                 Sheik Abubakar Tureta                                                -        Member
6.                Dr.Datti Ahmed                                                            -          Member
7.                 Senator Sodangi Abubakar                                          -        Member
8.                Senator Ahmed Makarfi                                              -         Member
9.                Hon. Mohammed Bello Matawalle                              -      Member
10.             Amb. Zakari Ibrahim                                                   -           Member
11.              Comrade Shehu Sani                                                     -        Member
12.            Hajiya Naja’atu Mohammed                                        -         Member
13.            Mallam  Adamu S. Ladan                                             -           Member
14.            Dr. Joseph Golwa                                                         -           Member
15.             AVM A. I. Shehu                                                          -           Member
16.            Mr. R. I. Nkemdirim                                                    -           Member
17.             DIG P. I. Leha                                                              -            Member
18.            Prof. Nur Alkali                                                            -           Member
19.            Malam Salihu Abubakar                                              -          Member
20.          Alhaji Abubakar Sani Lugga                                        -           Member
21.            Barrister Ibrahim Tahir                                               -          Member
22.           Brig-Gen. Ibrahim Sabo                                               -          Member
23.           Amb. Baba Ahmed Jidda                                             -          Member
24.           Group Capt. Bilal Bulama,Rtd.                                     -       Member
25.           Prof. Bolaji Akinyemi                                                   -          Member
26.           Representative of OSGF                                              -          Secretary
The setting up of the committee is coming after the National Security Council on Wednesday, considered a report by the technical committee it set up to review modalities for addressing security challenges in the north.
President Jonathan also approved the constitution of a Federal Government committee on the Proliferation of Small Arms and Light Weapons in keeping with his pledge that Nigeria will work with the United Nations and other countries to stem the worrisome proliferation of small arms and light weapons, and their use in creating insecurity and instability in Nigeria and other developing nations.
Members of the Committee on small arms and light weapons are
1.      Amb. Emmanuel Imohe        -                                         (Chairman)
2.    Amb.  Martin I. Uhomoibhi            -                                   Member
3.    Amb.  T. D. Hart                             -                                     Member
4.    Amb.Ghali Umar                                       -                          Member
5.     Amb. B.G. Wakil                              -                                   Member
6.    Mr. Opelusi Olureti                         -                                    Member
7.     Representative of Ministry of Interior -                           Member
8.    Representative of NSA                             -                          Member
9. Representative of DG (SSS)                       -                           Member
10. Representative of NIA                              -                           Member
11. Representative of Federal Ministry of Justice -               Member
12. Representative of Ministry of Defence            -                Member
13. Representative of DIA                                      -                    Member
14. Representative of the Nigeria Police Force       -               Member
15. Representative of the Nigerian Customs Service -           Member
16. Representative of OSGF                                        -               Member
17. Director, International Organisations Dept (MFA) -           Secretary
Both committees will be formally inaugurated by President Jonathan by 10 AM on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

 Source: Channels TV Website

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments made by readers of this blog are strictly the views of the writers and not that of Nedu Echianu's Blog.