Politics, Sports, Business, Entertainment and News you will get nowhere else.

Ads Here

Monday, 21 November 2016

Former Senate President Mark, Ndume, Ashafa, nine others to receive 2016 Senate Press Corps awards

* Six Journalists to receive awards for reportorial excellence 

Former President of the Senate, Senator David Mark and Senate Leader Ali Ndume with nine other serving senators are to receive awards of legislative excellence for their contributions to lawmaking and good governance in Nigeria on Wednesday November 23 at the International Conference Centre in Abuja.

In a statement on Monday, Chairman of the Senate Press Corps, Mr. Cosmos Ekpunobi said the awardees emerged after a rigorous process based on Bills sponsored, motions brought on the floor, point of orders raised, legislative activism at committee levels, vibrancy on the floor, knowledge of Senate rules and fidelity to parliamentary duties in the 8th Senate.

A full list of the awardees showed that Senators: Dino Melaye, Gbenga Ashafa, Biodun Olujimi, Barnabas Gemade, Andy Uba, Kabiru Gaya, Ahmad Lawan, Enyinanya Abaribe, Samuel Anyanwu, Ali Ndume and David Mark are all set to receive awards in various areas of lawmaking. 

The statement added that Senate President, Senator Abubakar Bukola Saraki has “through official communication to the press corps, graciously confirmed his readiness to personally Chair the event.”
A senior management staff in the National Assembly, Mr. Olayide Adelami is also to receive an award for the most performing bureaucrat alongside six journalists that distinguished themselves in reporting the Nigerian Senate within the 2015 to 2016 legislative session.

Ekpunobi stated that “the Senate Press Corps has a tradition of promoting good governance in the federal parliament through the encouragement of lawmakers to challenge the status quo by reforming our legislative system through innovative laws and motions that would contribute to good governance, infrastructural development and national unity. These set of lawmakers to be awarded are the product of such thinking.”

The statement which was signed by the Chairman of the organizing committee, Sumner Shagari Sambo further stated that “the awards are for the 2015 - 2016 legislative session and it is an annual event except for election years when new lawmakers are sworn-in. This year’s event promises to be a refreshing occasion to celebrate distinguished Nigerians especially gentlemen of the press.”

The last Senate Press Corps awards was held in July 2014 before the general election that produced new set of federal lawmakers. It had in attendance the Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu who delivered a brief speech on “Courage in the Times of Extreme Danger” and was attended by senators and other notable Nigerians like the then Governor of Ekiti state, Dr. Kayode Fayemi. 

The 2014 – 2015 awardees were the then Senate Leader, Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba, Senators Ita Enang, Olubunmi Adetumbi, Jummai Alhassan, Domingo Obende, as well as the immediate past Clerk of the National Assembly, Salisu Maikasuwa.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments made by readers of this blog are strictly the views of the writers and not that of Nedu Echianu's Blog.